Struggles of an artist 

 
The struggle here is real! Artist issue: eraser marks 
I am not sure if you can see them or not, but there are eraser marks and “old” marks all over this canvas! 

For those that don’t know, I sketch out each piece directly onto the canvas. Somedays I wish I had a projector….though I doubt I’d use it if I did! 

Honestly it is a struggle for some sketches. This Friesian I am working on has been a huge pain to sketch. Sometimes there are tiny adjustments that just make so much difference to the overall piece. Misplace a leg just slightly and the horse will look “off”. Turn its head just so and it won’t look correct. Sometimes these mis-sketched pieces of the horse puzzle are easy to see. However often they just blend in just so that it’s infuriatingly difficult to find. 

But oh when you do…..🎉 hooray!! I do believe this guy will be finished sketching today and I can finally start painting! 😊 

Oh and for your viewing pleasure, here are some of the in process pieces and my method of drying them (dishes can wait 😁). I think they look really neat this way! 

    

Well that is all for today folks. I will have another saddlebred piece to show you tomorrow! 

 

Leave a Reply

